9/18 Dung beetle, By Sonny.H

Dung Beetle Facts

  1. The rolling dung beetle stays alive by mainly eating other animals feces
  2. The rolling dung beetle finds its food from using its great sense of smell, it seeks out piles of dung.
  3. When they have found the best piece , the beetle rolls it into a ball back home.
  4. If it’s mating season the males find the male with the biggest ball and hang on the the ball, the male rolls both the feces and the female dung beetle back home.
  5. The dung beetle has to roll the ball backwards with its back legs.
  6. If the dung beetle loses its way back home the dung beetle uses the stars, the moon, sun, and even the milky way. The beetle uses its memory to compare what it sees now and what they saw at home, sort of like the sailors from long ago.
  7. Dung beetles are picky eaters, they are very particular about their poop. Some will only eat the poop of other animals, they prefer herbivores. Their favorite poop to eat if monkey poop. But they mostly like exotic poop from animals that most of the beetles have not tried.
  8. There are 7000 dung beetles that can be found on every continent except Antarctica.

My Post To BugHarmony.com

 

OMG, yesterday the most amazing thing happened to me. I was just minding my own business at a dung pile, and I was eating when I saw him. He was so handsome, the poop ball he was pushing was massive! The poop ball was my favorite type of monkey poop, I ran over to him. I immediately hung on the poop ball, he seemed pleased. So he rolled me in the direction of his house, but then a bigger beetle came out and attacked my new husband! The match lasted for hours, but finally my husband flipped over the bigger beetle! It was finally over, my husband went the back way to his house. When I got to his house I set up my stuff and moved in, and we mated right away. The next day we got another poop ball and set off to the beach to bury our poop, When we got there I inserted my fertilized eggs into the ball of poop. Then I sealed it up with my feces, my saliva, and dirt. And we went home!

So I just wanted to tell everyone that I will no longer be on BugHarmony.com, for I have already found love. So, Yaaaaay! I’m gonna be a mother!

 

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1zbgd6xpGQ

http://insects.about.com/od/beetles/a/10-Fascinating-Facts-About-Dung-Beetles.htm

http://www.softschools.com/facts/animals/dung_beetle_facts/114/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=meUVo6VPgtE

One thought on “9/18 Dung beetle, By Sonny.H”

  1. This is awesome Sonny! What an amazing animal. I had no idea they navigated using the stars – that is amazing. I am sure there will be many males sad you have left BugHarmony.com but I wish you every happiness with your new love!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *